Yoga

Yoga!

yoga

Back in January I took a two day class on yoga, through the organization YogaFit. This was the start of my Yoga journey, as I have intentions of continuing my education by taking other courses in the future.

Since taking the class I’ve offered after school yoga classes to children ages 6+ and their caregivers. The response was well received. I’ve been able to teach yoga poses and breathing techniques to homeschool families and the like who may otherwise not have access to such a program. I also like to incorporate some time for crafts and coloring at the end of our sessions.

One of my favorite crafts was when we made pipe cleaner yoga poses. The kids got to pick out their favorite poses and make little pipe cleaner people doing those poses. We wrote down the name of the pose and the kids got to take them home so they can continue to practice.

We’ve also done Mandala Coloring Sheets and played games like pom pom pick up with their toes and Simon says with yoga poses.

If time allows, I like to read a book to them with a yoga theme. Below are a few of my favorite go to books to read to the group.

BOOKS!
From Head to Toe by Eric Carle
Good Morning Yoga : A pose by pose wake up story by Mariam Gates
Good Night Yoga: A pose by pose bedtime story by Mariam Gates
I am Yoga by Susan Verde
Little Yoga : A Toddler’s First book of yoga by Rebecca Whitford
Sleepy Little Yoga : A Toddler’s Sleepy book of yoga by Martina Selway
Stretch by Doreen Cronin
Yoga Bunny By Brian Russo
You are a Lion! and Other fun yoga poses by Taeeun Yoo

If you have any questions or want to know more about how I structure classes just send me a message or leave a comment.

 

 

Leave a Reply

