One Week Until Africa!

Depositphotos_3780361_s

ONE WEEK UNTIL AFRICA!
In less than a week I’ll be on a plane with my mom headed for Africa. Zambia to be exact. We’re going on a trip of a lifetime and I thought I’d fill you in on a few things I’m packing to bring along.

WHAT TO PACK FOR A TWO WEEK STAY IN AFRICA

– 2 pairs of pants. (I figured hiking pants from REI were my best bet)
– 2 pairs of shorts
– 1 long skirt (you’ll need this if you are visiting any villages in the area)
– 2 short sleeved T-shirts
– 2 long sleeved T-shirts
– One warmer Sweater
– One rain proof jacket
– 10 pairs of underwear
– Two sports bras and one regular bra
– Bathing suit
– Three pairs of socks
– Hiking Shoes
– Sandals (Chacos)
– Hat
– Sunglasses
– Asprin
– Chapstick
– Sunscreen
– Old pair of glasses (incase my contacts are no longer functional)
– Toothbrush and Toothpaste
– Hair Brush
– Deodorant
– Shampoo
– Travel size Dry Shampoo
– IPhone and cable
– IPod and Cable
– 2 paperback books
– 2 audio books and 10+ hours of music
– Waterproof camera
– Journal and pen

All of this fits nicely in my new carryon bag I got from REI. My brother informs me that I can get more clothing at the thrift stores in the area. Some of the clothes he wears are priceless and I would love to purchase something wild and crazy to wear while I’m there.

HOW WE GOT THIS FAR

To be honest, I don’t really know. I know my mom planned the whole trip through a travel agency and has been in contact with them for over 8 months now. She just told me how much I owed her and I wrote the check. We had to get some vaccinations (Yellow Fever, Hepatitis A, B, and C) before going and a prescription for Malaria Pills. My brother has been living in Zambia for over a year now. He joined the Peace Corps last February and has been living in a village (in a dirt hut) working with the community on sustainable living projects. In the past, he’s eaten snakes and rats for dinner. I’m so looking forward to being pushed outside my comfort zone in these areas and excited to experience life in a whole new way. Look for more updates in the next few weeks.

Leave a Reply

