2014 Winter Olympics Book Display

The 2014 Winter Olympics are just around the corner and I thought it’d make for a wonderful book display theme.

Winter Olympics 2014

I printed out some pictures of famous Winter Olympians from the past years and outlined their features with black permanent marker. I then constructed a set of Olympic Rings and TA-DA! A wordless display sign. We’re not allowed to tap things on the wall so I hoisted (no pun intended) the sign up by placing it on a painted breakfast tray I made at home awhile back.

breakfast tray

After I painted the tray this bright green color, I glued down a colored image of a world map to the inside and sealed it with Mod Podge.  The Winter Olympics is an event the whole World competes in, so I thought it was an added bonus to add this prop to the display.

Below is a picture of what the tray looked like before I added the map. I forgot to take a picture of the tray before I started painting it. I put three coats of the light green color over the wood because it was a dark brown color, and that Santa dude had to go.

The best part, it only cost me about $5 to make. I already had a bottle of Mod Podge on hand and just needed to go to the store and pick out a paint color I liked and I bought this map for a dollar at the thrift store. You can always take something ugly and make it beautiful with a few coats of paint. 🙂

before and after

Leave a Reply

